Jewish Chicago comes together Sept. 15 for its 122nd Annual Meeting

honoring community members who embody "Together for Good"

AnnualMeeting1 image
Jordyn Scorpio will receive the Samuel A. Goldsmith Award.

Jewish Chicago will come together--both in person and virtually--for the Jewish Federation of Chicago's Annual Meeting on Sept. 15 at 11 a.m. at the Hyatt Regency Chicago. The event, chaired by former Rosenwald Award winner and current JUF/Federation Board member Midge Perlman Shafton, will review the incredible accomplishments of the last year and honor those who made them possible. 

Some highlights of the 122nd Annual Meeting: 

*Ann-Louise Kleper will receive the 59th annual Julius Rosenwald Memorial Award, the Federation's highest honor. The award, named for the business icon and philanthropist, recognizes a lifetime of dedication to Chicago's Jewish community. 

Kleper has served on the JUF/Federation Board for over 20 years--as vice chair, secretary, and executive committee member--and on more than a dozen committees. Beyond her longtime commitment to the Annual Campaign, Kleper has chaired many initiatives. She met refuseniks in the former Soviet Union and has participated in dozens of missions, including visits to Eastern Europe, Cuba-and more than 30 trips to Israel. 

Kleper, a Wexner Heritage alum, also made her mark on the national level, chairing what is now known as the Jewish Federations of North America's National Young Leadership Cabinet. She is a recipient of JFNA's Kipnis-Wilson/Friedland Award. 

An attorney for more than four decades, she currently practices with Dworkin & Maciariello. She is a  magna cum laude  graduate of Brandeis University, and a  cum laude  graduate of Boston University School of Law.  

*In the annual State of the Federation address, President Lonnie Nasatir will discuss how JUF/Federation stepped up to respond to multiple crises this year, including the war in Ukraine, gun violence, and a surge in antisemitism. Nasatir will also share his vision for the coming year and beyond--including how JUF will address soaring mental health care needs throughout the community. 

*The Davis, Gidwitz & Glasser Young Leadership Award, celebrating the achievements and promise of outstanding young volunteers, will be presented to Danny Gutman and Amy Siegel. Both of this year's winners have been 36 Under 36 honorees and members of JUF's Ben Gurion Society Advisory Council.  

Gutman is an incoming JUF/ Federation Board member. He has served as a member of JUF's Marketing & Communications Committee since 2020, helped develop BGS Explores, and completed Resetting the Table's Dialogue Across Difference program. Gutman also served on the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum's Next Generation Board. Professionally, Gutman is a Principal at BDT & Company.  

Siegel has been involved in JUF through YLD, participating in LEADS and Gesher; she has served on the Executive Committee of the Young Women's City Council and as its Community Development Chair.  Siegel was also the first to volunteer when JUF adopted the Step-up Lion program, and this year chaired Good Deeds Day. She has worked in financial services for 15 years and is now the Senior Business Manager for Invesco Investment Solutions.

*The Samuel A. Goldsmith Award, spotlighting exemplary young Jewish agency professionals, will go to Joelle Kelenson and Jordyn Scorpio. 

Kelenson, the Director of Recreation at Keshet, was born and raised in Montreal. Her career began at the JCC in Northern Virginia. Most recently, she served as Associate Director of Camp Chi for six years; there, she worked alongside Keshet to give kids with special needs summer camp experiences.

Scorpio is the Director of Community Education for SHALVA, the oldest independent Jewish domestic abuse agency in the US. After moving from New York to Chicago in 2019, Scorpio was hired in 2020 to create Seven Circles, a program to teach young couples about healthy relationships; it launched in January 2022. 

*The Shofar Award will be presented to 2022 JUF Annual Campaign Chair Steven N. Miller, as an expression of the community's gratitude for his commitment and leadership. 

*The Federation membership will elect the 2022-2023 Board slate. 


To register for the Annual Meeting, visit 



AdvertisementAaron Wealth Advisors2
AdvertisementAdler & Herbach USS
AdvertisementBuckingham Pavilion
Connect with us